New Council and New Constitution after AGM

The PRII AGM on Thursday last was the best attended in many years, with over 60 members gathered in the beautiful old library in the Royal Irish Academy. As well as catching up with one another, a lot of important Institute business was completed on the night.

Members heard Padraig McKeon, FPRII, President, summarise the work undertaken on behalf of members in 2018/19 under the headings of the professionalisation, promotion and protection of the sector. He said that by any measure, including its financial position, the Institute had had a good year. “We have progressed membership, widened the education and training offer, and have begun a nuanced approach to the protection of the skill sets and position of the profession.” Looking to the future, he spoke about the next three-year strategy which will focus on building a sustainable professional representative body for the 2030s.

The Treasurer, Aoibheann O’Sullivan, MPRII presented the financial report.  She said achieving an increase in surplus of 17% year on year was a significant achievement given increased VAT and other costs and strategic investment such as the research study, the PRII Census. Reserves have grown substantially in the past 3 years and now stand at the highest levels the Institute has ever held. Membership continues to grow and is also the highest attained by the Institute.

The Reports were followed by the Elections to National Council. The outcome was as follows:

David Geary, MPRII (Charity/NGO) and Eoin Kennedy, MPRII (Sole Trader/Independent) were unopposed.

Following a three-way contest, Sinead Whooley, FPRII was elected to represent the In-House Category.

A two-way contest saw Neasa Kane-Fine, FPRII secure the Education vacancy.

And Aoibheann O’Sullivan, MPRII was elected Public Affairs representative following another two-candidate competition.

Three General vacancies were filled by Dr. Karl Anderson, MPRII (Communications Consultant and Lecturer) and Jason Kiernan, MPRII (Houses of the Oireachtas) and Aileen Power, MPRII (Standard Life).

Following the election counts, ballots were held on each of five Special Resolutions designed to update, amend and future-proof the Memorandum and Articles or Constitution of the Institute.

All five were accepted by over 90% of the voters.

After all that, attendees repaired to The Duke Bar to celebrate the past year and welcome the new Council members Karl, Jason and Aileen.


The Council for 2020/21 (pictured l to r) are:  Eoin Kennedy, MPRII; Jason Kiernan, MPRII; Robert Marshall, MPRII; Padraig McKeon, FPRII (President); David Geary, MPRII; Sinéad Whooley, FPRII; Aoibheann O'Sullivan, MPRII; Aileen Power, MPRII; Dr Karl Anderson, MPRII; Neasa Kane-Fine, FPRII; and Florence White, MPRII (Vice President). (Not pictured is Morwenna Rice, MPRII.)


Get the latest PR news

Restricted Access

Thank you for your interest in the PRII Media Sourcebook which is available to full PRII members (MPRII & FPRII) and Life Fellows of the Institute. Affiliate, Associate and Student members of the PRII may purchase discounted access to this online edition.

Read More

Restricted Access

Thank you for your interest, this resource is available to PRII Members only. To learn about the full range of membership benefits please click the button below.

Learn More