NewsBrands Ireland journalism awards

After a three year gap, the Irish newspaper awards returned with 25 awards being presented last Thursday at the  Newsbrands Ireland Journalism  Awards. The overall 2016 Journalist of the Year award went to Michael Clifford of the Irish Examiner, the first time the Irish Examiner has won the accolade. He also won the Columnist of the Year award for the broadsheet newspapers. In his citation, the judges said that he is

"a journalist who has demonstrated that, although he is a winner in one category, he would be equally at home in several others. In everything Michael Clifford does – commentary, analysis, exposés – he is driven by the three basic characteristics of good journalism in any paper, on any topic, and in any age: evidence, accuracy, and fair-mindedness. And good writing, of course – that goes without saying.”’

The winners are listed below. The citations for each of the winners are available here.

Journalist of the Year:  Michael Clifford, Irish Examiner

Business Journalist of the Year:  Tom Lyons, The Sunday Business Post

Business Story of the Year:  Fearghal O’Connor, The Sunday Business Post

Columnist of the Year – Broadsheet:  Michael Clifford, Irish Examiner

Columnist of the Year – Popular:  Paddy Murray, Sunday World

Crime Journalist of the Year:  Nicola Tallant, Sunday World

Crime Story of the Year:  Alan Sherry, Sunday World

Critic of the Year:  Patrick Freyne, The Irish Times

Digital Innovation Award:  The Irish Times, Remembering the 1916 Rising

Feature Writer of the Year (Popular):  Catherine Fegan, Irish Daily Mail / The Irish Mail on Sunday

Feature Writer of the Year (Broadsheet):  Susan Mitchell, The Sunday Business Post

Foreign Coverage of the Year:  Jason O’Brien, Irish Independent

Front Page of the Year:  The Herald, ‘Hotel Killers’

Headline of the Year:  The Irish Sun, ‘Charlie Chaplain’

Investigative Journalism of the Year:  Peter Murtagh, The Irish Times

News Analysis of the Year:  Rosita Boland, The Irish Times

News Reporter of the Year:  Patrick O’Connell, Irish Daily Star / Sunday World

Political Journalist of the Year:  Jody Corcoran, Sunday Independent

Political Story of the Year:  Niamh Horan, Sunday Independent

Showbiz Journalist of the Year:  Ken Sweeney, The Irish Sun

Showbiz Story of the Year:  Maeve Quigley, Irish Daily Mirror

Sports Story of the Year:  Vincent Hogan, Irish Independent

Sports Writer of the Year:  Neil Francis, Sunday Independent

Scoop of the Year:  Sunday World Crime Team, Sunday World

Young Journalist of the Year:  Sean Dunne, Irish Daily Mail 

Get the latest PR news

Restricted Access

Thank you for your interest in the PRII Media Sourcebook which is available to full PRII members (MPRII & FPRII) and Life Fellows of the Institute. Affiliate, Associate and Student members of the PRII may purchase discounted access to this online edition.

Read More

Restricted Access

Thank you for your interest, this resource is available to PRII Members only. To learn about the full range of membership benefits please click the button below.

Learn More